Scientific Advisory Committee

Composition: The Scientific Advisory Committee has 6 members with staggered terms. Appointments are for 3-year terms, beginning on August 1. The chair of the committee will be one of the two members who is in her/his third and final year on the committee. The committee will consist of experts in the mathematical sciences who reflect a wide variety of disciplines. The committee members should be knowledgeable about the skills and achievements relevant for a variety of prizes. The committee members will be appointed by the AWM President. The Awards Committee is asked to make recommendations for members of the committee. If more suggestions are needed, the AWM Committee on Committees will also be asked to make recommendations for members of the Scientific Advisory Committee.

Charge: Obtain the names of potential nominees and help procure nominations for women to be recipients of distinguished prizes, awards and honors of organizations related to the mathematical sciences. This could include AWM prizes and awards. The committee will monitor and generate suggestions for nominations, develop efficient processes for ensuring that nominations are submitted and over time, establish social networking mechanisms to generate names and nominations. In addition to obtaining names and nominators with whom the committee members are familiar, the committee could ask other highly respected individuals, especially those in mathematical sciences disciplines not represented by committee members, to suggest candidates and nominators of candidates for these prizes or honors.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact the AWM Executive Director:!

Committee Name Member Name Committee Term
Scientific Advisory Committee Maria Chudnovsky 2/1/21 – 1/31/24
Scientific Advisory Committee Danielle Ciesielski 6/1/22 – 1/31/25
Scientific Advisory Committee Edray Goins 6/1/21 – 1/31/24
Scientific Advisory Committee Masha Gordina 6/1/22 – 1/31/25
Scientific Advisory Committee Guozhen Lu (Chair) 2/1/21 – 1/31/24
Scientific Advisory Committee Ulrica Wilson 2/1/21 – 1/31/24