AWM Microsoft Research Prizes

In Algebra and Number Theory

The Executive Committee of the Association for Women in Mathematics established the AWM Microsoft Research Prize in Algebra and Number Theory in 2012, and it was first presented in 2014. The prize is awarded every other year and serves to highlight to the community outstanding contributions by women in the field and to advance the careers of the prize recipients.

This award is made possible by a generous contribution from Microsoft Research.

Nomination Period: April 1 through May 15 of an odd numbered year. The prize will be awarded the January after nominations close, which falls in an even year.

Nomination Location: All nominations can be made at To locate the nomination form in MathPrograms, click on  “View Programs” at the top right of the page. Scroll down to the programs listed for “Association for Women in Mathematics” and click “Nominate” next to the Microsoft Research Prize.

Nominator: Any person can be a nominator! People of any gender can be a nominator, self-nominations are allowed, and you do not need to be an AWM member to nominate someone for this award. If this is a self-nomination, then you must have one additional letter of support.

Nomination Packet: A nomination packet should include:

  • A one to three-page letter of nomination highlighting the exceptional contributions of the candidate; and
  • One letter supporting the nomination.

Nominations will be accepted online at All submitted materials become the property of the AWM.

Award Criteria: The purpose of the award is to highlight exceptional research in some area of algebra by a woman early in her career. The field will be broadly interpreted to include number theory, cryptography, combinatorics and other applications, as well as more traditional areas of algebra.  Candidates should be women, based at US institutions who are within 10 years of receiving their Ph.D. or have not yet received tenure at the nomination deadline.

Nominee Requirements. The award is open to all regardless of nationality and citizenship. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination. Nominations of women from underrepresented minorities are especially encouraged. 

Presentation of Award. The award will be presented at the Joint Prize Session at the Joint Mathematics Meetings each January of even years. The recipient will receive a $1000 prize, certificate, and will be featured in an article in the AWM Newsletter.

2024   Yunqing Tang, University of California, Berkeley

2022   Jennifer Balakrishnan, Boston University

2020   Melody Chan, Brown University

2018   Melanie Matchett Wood, University of Wisconsin-Madison

2016   Lauren Williams, University of California, Berkeley

2014   Sophie Morel, Princeton University

Questions? Call AWM Administrative Specialist at 401-455-4042 or email