AWM Sadosky Research Prize in Analysis

2016 Winner: Daniela De Silva


The 2016 AWM Sadosky Research Prize in Analysis is awarded to Daniela De Silva at Barnard College, New York, in recognition of her fundamental contributions to the regularity theory of nonlinear elliptic Partial Differential Equations (PDE) and non-local integro-differential equations.  De Silva´s research centers on the analysis of free boundary problems; PDE problems solved for both an unknown function and an (embedded) unknown surface of discontinuity, like a solid to liquid phase transition or the edge of a drop sitting on a surface.  She has done seminal work and obtained outstanding results on one-phase problems, two-phase problems, as well as singular minimizing free boundary problems.  Her originality, depth, as well as enormous technical skills are evident, for example, in her works with Roquejoffre on thin one phase problems (one of two 2013 best papers award at Ann. IHP); with Savin on a regularity theory for nonlocal free boundary problem; with Ferrari and Salsa on a complete regularity theory for two phase problems in general media; and with Jerison on the construction of a singular minimizing free boundary.  In particular, De Silva’s solo paper Free boundary regularity for a problem with right hand has been highly praised by world leaders as one whose impact is tremendous and has inspired other distinguished authors to collaborate with her. Daniela De Silva is an outstanding and talented young analyst whose remarkable work has either answered important outstanding questions or opened new research directions. She richly deserves the recognition of the 2016 AWM Sadosky Research Prize in Analysis.


It is a true honor and a great joy to receive the second AWM Sadosky Prize in Analysis. Though I did not know Cora Sadosky personally, I was lucky enough to hear about her from some of the many mathematicians she mentored, guided, and inspired. Her mathematical talent and her conviction against any discrimination in our profession were truly remarkable. I am thrilled that the cited results have been so highly praised. I wish to express my deep gratitude to those who collaborated with me on those problems, and to all of my collaborators and colleagues who have helped me shape my mathematical interests. In particular, I am immensely grateful to David Jerison for his early guidance through countless stimulating conversations, to Luis Caffarelli for his inspirational work source of beautiful and challenging questions, to Sandro Salsa for his tremendous support and passion for the subject, and last but not least, to my husband Ovidiu Savin for sharing his life and his mathematical talent with me. Finally, I would like to thank the Association for Women in Mathematics. In honor of Cora’s memory I will continue to work passionately on the beautiful mathematics that has been so highly recognized by this prestigious award.