AWM Service Awards

The Association for Women in Mathematics is a non-profit that depends largely on the work of its volunteer members. In recognition of the extensive time and effort devoted to AWM activities, the AWM Service Award recognizes individuals for helping to promote and support women in mathematics through exceptional volunteer service to the AWM.

The Association for Women in Mathematics established the AWM Service Award in 2012. An inaugural class of 10 service award winners was recognized at 2013 Joint Mathematics Meetings, and each year the recipients of the Service Award continue to be recognized at the annual AWM Reception and Awards Presentation at the Joint Mathematics Meetings.

Nomination Period: April 1 – May 15 by email to the AWM Administrative Assistant at The AWM Executive Committee reviews submissions and selects a winner at the September Executive Committee meeting.

Nominator: Any person can be a nominator! People of any gender can be a nominator, self-nominations are allowed, and you do not need to be an AWM member to nominate someone for this award. 

Nomination Packet: A nomination should include:

  • The name, affiliation, and email of nominee;
  • A brief explanation of the work done by the nominee on behalf of AWM or in support of AWM initiatives;

All submitted materials become the property of the AWM.

Award Criteria: This prize will be awarded annually to one or more individuals who have given exemplary service to the organization within the past 7 years.

Nominee Requirements. Nominees must be current members of AWM. The award is open to all regardless of nationality and citizenship. Nominations of women from underrepresented minorities are especially encouraged.  Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination.  Awardees will be confirmed by the Executive Committee. Presidents and past presidents of AWM are not eligible for the award. Other officers of AWM are not eligible during their term of office.

Presentation of Award. The winner(s) will be recognized at the AWM Reception and Awards Ceremony at the Joint Mathematics Meetings each January. 

2024 Johanna Franklin, Hofstra University
2024 Karoline Pershell, Service Robotics & Technologies, Inc.

2023 Katherine Dowd, University of Minnesota 
2023 Robin Marek, Kingston, Rhode Island
2023 Tracy Weyand, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology 

2022 Ellen Kirkman, Wake Forest University 
2022 The Notable Women in Math Playing Cards Project Management Committee (sarah-marie belcastro, Sherli Koshy-Chenthittayil, Linda McGuire, Monica Morales Hernandez, Denise A. Rangel Tracy, and Oscar Vega)

2021 Emille D. Lawrence, University of San Fransisco

2020   Raegan Higgins, Texas Tech University
2020   Omayra Ortega, Sonoma State University
2020   Denise A. Rangel Tracy, Farleigh Dickinson University

2019   Michelle Snider, IDA

2018   Jacqueline Dewar, Loyola Marymount University
2018   Sarah Greenwald, Applachian State University
2018   Jacqueline Jensen-Vallin, Loyola Marymount University

2017   Kathleen (Fowler) Kavanagh, Clarkson University

2017   Michelle Manes, University of Hawaii
2017   Maura Mast, Fordham University
2017   Marie Vitulli, University of Oregon

2016   Heather Lewis, Nazareth College of Rochester
2016   Heather Russell, University of Richmond
2016   Rebecca Segal, Virginia Commonwealth University
2016   Bettye Anne Case, Florida State University, AWM Lifetime Service Award

2015   Irina Mitrea, Temple University
2015   Kathryn Leonard, California State University Channel Island
2015   Elebeoba E. May, University of Houston
2015   Christina Sormani, City University of New York, Graduate Center and Lehman College

2014   Tai Melcher, University of Virginia
2014   Katharine Ott, University of Kentucky

2013   Rebecca Herb, University of Maryland College Park
2013   Marge Bayer, University of Kansas
2013   Holly Gaff, Old Dominion University
2013   Erica Voolich, Somerville High School, Massachusetts
2013   Pao-sheng Hsu, University of Maine Orono
2013   Rachel Kuske, University of British Columbia
2013   Victoria Howle, Texas Tech University
2013   Shari Moskow, Drexel University
2013   Krystyna Kuperberg, Auburn University
2013   Rebecca Goldin, George Mason University

Questions? Call the AWM at 401-455-4042 or email