Louise Hay Awards

For Contributions to Mathematics Education

2024 Winner

Trena Wilkerson

While Louise Hay was widely recognized for her contributions to mathematical logic and for her strong leadership as Head of the Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago, her devotion to students and her lifelong commitment to nurturing the talent of young women and men secure her reputation as a consummate educator. To learn more about Louise Hay, you can read a biography of Louise Hay on the St. Andrews website and an autobiographical article she wrote that was published in the AWM Newsletter.

The Executive Committee of the Association for Women in Mathematics established the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education to recognize outstanding achievements in any area of mathematics education, to be interpreted in the broadest possible sense. The annual presentation of this award is intended to highlight the importance of mathematics education and to evoke the memory of all that Hay exemplified as a teacher, scholar, administrator, and human being. 

Nomination Period:  April 1 – May 15

Nomination Location: All nominations can be made at MathPrograms.org. To locate the nomination form in MathPrograms, click on  “View Programs” at the top right of the page. Scroll down to the programs listed for “Association for Women in Mathematics” and click “Nominate” next to the Hay Award.

Nominator: Any person can be a nominator! People of any gender can be a nominator, self-nominations are allowed, and you do not need to be an AWM member to nominate someone for this award. If this is a self-nomination then you must have one additional letter of support.

Nomination Packet: A nomination packet should include

  • A one to three-page letter of nomination highlighting the exceptional contributions of the candidate to be recognized; the name, position, institution, address, phone, and e-mail address of the nominee and the nominator should be included in the cover letter; and
  • One additional letter supporting the nomination.

All submitted materials become the property of the AWM.

Award Criteria: This prize will be awarded annually to a woman for outstanding contributions to mathematics education.

Nominee Requirements. The award is open to all regardless of nationality and citizenship. Nominations of women from underrepresented minorities are especially encouraged. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination. 

Presentation of Award. The award will be presented at the Joint Prize Session at the Joint Mathematics Meetings each January. The recipient will receive a $500 prize, honorary certificate, and will be featured in an article in the AWM Newsletter.

At the request of the nominator, nominations can remain active for two additional years, and the nominator can update the application materials.

2024   Trena Wilkerson, Baylor University
2023   Nicole Joseph, Vanderbilt University

2022   Vilma Mesa, University of Michigan
2021    Lynda R. Wiest, University of Nevada, Reno
2020   Erika Camacho, Arizona State University
2019    Jacqueline Dewar, Loyola Marymount University
2018    Kristin Umland, University of New Mexico
2017    Cathy Kessel, Illustrative Mathematics
2016    Judy Walker, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
2015    T. Christine Stevens, St Louis University
2014    Sybilla Beckmann, University of Georgia
2013    Amy Cohen, Rutgers University
2012    Bonnie Gold, Monmouth University
2011     Patricia Campbell, University of Maryland
2010    Phyllis Z. Chinn, Humboldt State University
2009   Deborah Loewenberg Ball, University of Michigan
2008   Harriet S. Pollatsek, Mount Holyoke College
2007   Virginia McShane Warfield, University of Washington
2006   Patricia Clark Kenschaft, Montclair State University
2005   Susanna S. Epp, DePaul University
2004   Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, University of Kansas
2003   Katherine Puckett Layton, Beverly Hills High School
2002   Annie Selden, Tennessee Technological University
2001   Patricia D. Shure, University of Michigan
2000   Joan Ferrini-Mundy, Michigan State University
1999   Martha K. Smith, University of Texas at Austin
1998   Deborah Hughes Hallett, Harvard University and the University of Arizona
1997   Marilyn Burns, Marilyn Burns Education Associates
1996   Glenda Lappan, Michigan State University, and Judith Roitman, University of Kansas
1995   Etta Falconer, Spelman College
1994   Kaye A. de Ruiz, U.S. Air Force
1993   Naomi Fisher, University of Illinois at Chicago
1992   Olga Beaver, Williams College
1991   Shirley Frye, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

Questions? Call the AWM Administrative Specialist at 401-455-4042 or email awm@awm-math.org.