AWM at JMM 2019

Baltimore Convention Center Baltimore, Hilton Baltimore & Baltimore Marriott Inner Harbor, Baltimore, MD

Tuesday, January 15 through Saturday, January 19, 2019


AWM Hill Visit Orientation and Training

  • 8:30–11:00 am | Johnson Room, Hilton Baltimore

Meet with Congressional Offices in Washington, DC

  • 1:00–5:00 pm | Senate and House of Representatives Office Buildings
    All are welcome to participate.

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 16, 1:00–2:00 pm | Room 316, Baltimore Convention Center

Discussion: Understanding the Landscape and Needs in Teacher Collaborations

An open forum with the AWM Teacher Partnership Committee and the AWM Education Committee.

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 16, 2:15–3:40 pm | Room 316, Baltimore Convention Center

AWM Panel Discussion Promoting Inclusion in STEM

  • Panelists:
  • Talia Fernos, University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Organizer and Moderator)
  • Pamela Barnett, University of Pennsylvania
  • Harrison Bray, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Piper Harron, University of Hawaii, Manoa
  • Autumn Kent, University of Wisconsin, Madison

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 16, 3:45–4:15 pm | Room 316, Baltimore Convention Center

AWM Business Meeting

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 16, 9:30–11:00 pm | Rooms 327–328, Baltimore Convention Center

AWM Reception and Awards Presentation

  • Alice T. Schafer Prize
    • Naomi S. Sweeting, University of Chicago, Winner D
    • anielle Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Runner-up
    • Lisa L. Yang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Honorable Mention
    • Nina Zubrilina, Stanford University, Honorable Mention
    • Nitya Mani, Stanford University, Honorable Mention
  • AWM Dissertation Prize
    • Ebru Toprak, University of Illinois, Winner
    • Jiuya Wang, University of Wisconsin, Winner
  • 2019 Class of AWM Fellows
    • Hélène Barcelo, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
    • Lida Kittrell Barrett
    • Sun-Yung Alice Chang, Princeton University
    • Amy Cohen, Rutgers University
    • Ingrid Daubechies, Duke University
    • Chandler Davis, University of Toronto
    • Jacqueline Dewar, Loyola Marymount University
    • Edray Herber Goins, Pomona College
    • Judy Green, Marymount University
    • Pao-sheng Hsu, Independent
    • Ellen E. Kirkman, Wake Forest University
    • Maria M. Klawe, Harvey Mudd College
    • Anne M. Leggett, Loyola University Chicago
    • Magnhild Lien, California State University, Northridge
    • Maeve Lewis McCarthy, Murray State University
    • Dusa McDuff, Barnard College, Columbia University
    • Irina Mitrea, Temple University
    • Alice Silverberg, University of California, Irvine
    • Audrey Terras, University of California, San Diego
    • Marie A. Vitulli, University of Oregon
    • Judy Leavitt Walker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    • Lesley Ward, University of South Australia
    • Ulrica Wilson, Morehouse College

THURSDAY, JANUARY 17, 10:05–10:55 am | Ballroom I & II, Baltimore Convention Center

AWM-AMS Noether Lecture – Dynamics of systems with low complexity

Bryna Kra, Northwestern University

One way to classify dynamical systems is by their entropy, which roughly speaking gives a measure of the disorder in the system. Deterministic systems have zero entropy, but in spite of this structure, many basic questions about systems with zero entropy remain open. Even when placing strong constraints on the complexity of the system, easily formulated questions remain intractable. I will give an overview of the relations among complexity, algebraic properties, and dynamical characteristics of the system (such as periodicity, minimality, and transitivity), and their relations to combinatorial problems.

THURSDAY, JANUARY 17, 4:25–5:25 pm | Ballroom I & II, Baltimore Convention Center

Joint Prize Session

  • Kathryn Mann, Brown University—The AWM Joan and Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry
  • Jacqueline Dewar, Loyola Marymount University —Louise Hay Award for Contribution to Mathematics Education
  • Suzanne Weekes, Worcester Polytechnic Institute—Gweneth Humphreys Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics

FRIDAY, JANUARY 18, 5:00–6:15 pm | Pratt Street Lobby, Baltimore Convention Center

AWM Workshop Poster Presentations by Women Graduate Students and Reception

  • Organizers:
  • Emilie Wiesner, Ithaca College (Poster Judging Coordinator)
  • Matilde Lalin, University of Montreal
  • Liz Vivas, Ohio State University
  • Sarah Witherspoon, Texas A&M University

♥ before the name of the poster presenter indicates a poster winner

SATURDAY, JANUARY 19, 8:30 am–5:00 pm | Room 307, Baltimore Convention Center

AWM Workshop: Women in Applied and Computational Topology

  • Organizers:
  • Radmila Sazdanovic, North Carolina State University
  • Yusu Wang, Ohio State University